Public and Optional Holidays in Pakistan 2021

74 / 100

The list of Public and Optional holidays in Pakistan is released by the Ministry of Interior Pakistan at the beginning of every year. The Ministry of Interior, Pakistan has released details for the year 2021 as well. The first public holiday comes on Kashmir Day i.e. February 5. Eid-ul-Fitr will be on 14th May, and Eid-ul-Adha on 21st July (depending on the appearance of the Moon). According to the list issued by the Ministry of Interior, in 2021, Pakistani may enjoy 14 public holidays and 28 optional holidays.

The list of Public Holidays in Pakistan regarding festivals of Muslims and Minorities for the year 2021 is as below:

In the case of Muslim Festivals, the dates of Holidays are based on anticipated dates and are subject to the appearance of the moon for which separate notification will be issued by the ministry of interior.

Public and Optional Holidays in Pakistan 2021

These are the Public and Optional Holidays in Pakistan

Public Holidays

Sr. No Occasion Days Dates
1 Kashmir Day Friday 5th February, 2021
2 Pakistan Day Tuesday 23rd March, 2021
3 Labour Day Saturday 1st May, 2021
4 Eid-ul-Fitr Friday, Saturday, Sunday 14th, 15th and 16th May, 2021 (1st Shawal 1442 A.H)
5 Eid-ul-Azha Wednesday, Thursday and Friday 21st, 22nd, 23rd July, 2021 (10th Zil Hajj 1442 A.H)
6 Independence Day Saturday 14th August, 2021
7 Ashura Wednesday and Thursday 18th & 19th August, 2021
8 Eid Milad-un-Nabi Tuesday 19th October, 2021
9 Quaid-e-Azam Day/ Christmas Saturday 25th December, 2021
10 Day after Christmas Sunday 26th December, 2021 (For Christians only)

 

Bank Holidays:

The following list shows the bank holidays. On these days, the banks, MFBs, and DFIs will remain closed for the public but NOT for their employees:

Sr. No Day/Date
1 1st January, 2021 (Friday)
2 14th April, 2021 (Wednesday) corresponding to 1st Ramadan 1442 A.H (subject to the appearance of Moon)
3 1st July, 2021 (Thursday)

Optional Holidays

Sr.No Occasion Days Dates
1 New Year Day Friday 1st January, 2021
2 Basant Punchami Tuesday 16th February, 2021 
3 Shivaratri Thursday 11th March, 2021
4 Shab-e-Meraj  Friday 12th March, 2021 (27 Rajab 1442 A.H)
5 Holi Sunday or Monday 28th or 29th March, 2021
6 Dulhandi Monday 29th March, 2021
7 Shab-e-Barat Monday 29th March, 2021 (15th Shaban 1442 A.H)
8 Good Friday Friday 2nd April, 2021
9 Easter/ Day After Easter Sunday Sunday/ Monday 4th/5th April, 2021
10 Baisakhi Wednesday 14th April, 2021
11 Eid-e-Rizwan (Bahai’s Community Only) Wednesday 21st April, 2021
12 Buddha Purnima Wednesday 26th May, 2021
13 Nauroze (Parsi’s New Year Day) Monday 16th August, 2021
14 Birthday of Lord Zoroaster (Khordad Sai) Saturday 21st August, 2021
15 Janam Ashtami Monday 23rd August, 2021
16 Chehlum Tuesday 28th September, 2021 (20th Safar 1443 A.H)
17 Durga Puja Monday 13th September, 2021
18 Dussehra Wednesday 15th September, 2021
19 Giyarvee Shareef Monday 18th October, 2021 (11th Rabi-us-Sani 1443 A.H)
20 Birthday of Guru Valmik Sawami Ji Wednesday 20th October, 2021
21 Diwali Thursday 4th November, 2021
22 Guru Nanak Dev Jee Birthday Thursday 18th November, 2021

For more information click here.

Leave a Comment